• Subscribe

    Subscribe to This Week In Panospace by eMail.
    Subscribe in a reader
  • License

    Creative Commons License
    This work is © 2008-2012
    by Yuval Levy
    and licensed under a
    Creative Commons License.
  • Entries

    July 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Archives

World Wide Panorama – Elevation


The latest World Wide Panorama event is online. Over 200 interpretations on the subject of Elevation, worldwide. I had an ambitious plan that was dependent on securing permission to publish pictures taken from private ground. Since I did not get the permission ahead of the shooting period, I went for anĀ alternative plan.

I used qtpfsgui for some absolutely unrealistic tone mapping. Some will love it, some will hate it, it is purely subjective and I welcome all respectfully formulated opinions. Unfortunately the WWP site still lacks a feedback / comments facility. Post your comments here. Love it or hate it, I’d like to read from you.

Some photographers use an HDR/tonemapping workflow to achieve “realistic” images. I am not that breed of photographer. What is “realistic” anyway? When I want “realistic” images, enfuse is the tool I use.

An HDR workflow captures more dynamic range than what current display technology can show. The tonemapping process maps the captured dynamic range on the narrow dynamic range of the output device. There are dozens of tone mapping operators (TMOs), some more complex than others. Many of them can be parametrized. Together they give an almost infinite number of variation to choose from, and these can in turn can still be fine-tuned using curves, histogram, saturation and other traditional adjustments.

In the end what count is the visual effect that the photographer intends to achieve. To me, HDR/tonemapping is another, powerful tool in the toolbox that I use to draw with light.

6 Responses

  1. I read your saga, Plan C et al…, and think you did a great job with the circumstances that were presented. That is a very DRAMATIC image. I like the way you pushed HDR in a direction that is more artistic rather than literal. The sky especially was WOW!

  2. I like it. It has a surreal sensation. Surrealism out of realism.
    One is within the other, its just not visible to everybody.
    Who says which 24 bits to use out of 96, which a true hdr makes available?You, your impression.

    I could have sworn the cat on the roof was pasted, but no it was intended by Toyota….Plan S as in ‘Serendipity’ worked well for you to illustrate elevation. Bravo.

    Cheers

  3. I like the fact that you need to look into the pano to see why this is an elevation – I’m sorry that your first plans didn’t work out. However I find the over-tonemapiness too much – as with your panorama inside the National Assembly.

  4. I loved the cat on high. Elevated me. I found the halo around half the skyline puzzling. It would have been easy to paint the sky to building edge and half the pano is that way. I didn’t get the point of the efect. Perhaps it was to emphasize? Of course, with late editing, you might be changing it as I write. In any case it is a fine entry and story.

  5. Tottaly agree with you, Yuval. When I want realistic images I use enfuse, too. It’s a very good tool for this and also a kind of HDR in the pure way because enfuse also captures in an image a High Dynamic Range, not possible with just one capture even with a very expensive camera.

    I think in enfuse just like watch in a picture what you saw in the reflex camera finder :-)

    About tonemapping, It’s the same ever… someone want it totally unreal, someone want a non-agressive tonemapping.

    Here I have som HDR and Enfused pictures.

    http://www.fotoshdr.net/

  6. Sometimes HDR images strike me as too cartoony. The cars waiting at the light give me that feeling, although HDR makes the clouds and parked cars carry the grim feeling of requiring a dash home on the motorcycle before the clouds unleash a torrential downpour (or not, as continental weather is wont to do).

    The halo effect I see in much of HDR work I’ve viewed influences my viewing as well. Here, positively with the cat and sign, but perhaps less so with the tall buildings and pole, as if they have spectral twins beside them.

    Anyway, I’m glad I had the chance to view it!

Leave a Reply

