• Subscribe

    Subscribe to This Week In Panospace by eMail.
    Subscribe in a reader
  • License

    Creative Commons License
    This work is © 2008-2012
    by Yuval Levy
    and licensed under a
    Creative Commons License.
  • Entries

    January 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Archives

Social Networking


f__kbookThere is something wrong when a third party obliges me to open an account to access the personal content of a friend who wants to share it with me. The other way around, I will never willfully accept that an entity keeps my content hostage to its interest (commercial or other) and obliges my friends to open an account. I don’t care how popular that entity or business is. If it can’t respect my ownership, access, and privacy rights, I’ll take my content and my personal data elsewhere.

And I don’t mind my friends calling me a brontosaurus or otherĀ  names for staying out of the “social web”. The real social network is not behind the keyboard, anyway.

I found this funny colorful account (warning: graphic language) of somebody who tried to quit f**kbook.

Photo credits: flickr/Greg O’Connell CC-BY-2.0, edited. I was so lacking time and so in need to put out this statement that I quickly searched for an appropriate image that I could use to go with this short text.

4 Responses

  1. Common sense indeed ! Bravo Yuval. Maybe these thoughts came up because you don’t have the “social” need of self-exhibition at any price ;-)

  2. Bien dit Yuv. Tu rassures.

    Rv

  3. Cant imaging you having many friends on f**ebook then? because as it is true you don’t need f**ebook to have friends, don’t you think that it is nice keeping intouch with them whilst you aren’t with them?…i think you can’t work it so you have felt the need, in pure spite, to have a rant about it? am i right?…

  4. @Jon: Define the term friends. If you think you have more friends than you can count fingers on your hands you might be mistaking acquaintances for friends. You share a beer at the bar with an acquaintance. You can entrust your life to a friend.

    A friend is somebody you can have no contact with for many years and when you meet again the friendship continues as it was yesterday.

    Keeping in touch is a two way endeavor. It’s an investment in a relationship. Doing it by proxy of “social technology” is highly impersonal. IMO it gives the relationship a cheap feeling. I value my friends more than that.

    Keeping in touch is a personal thing. I personally would feel offended to find out on Facebook what surprise my wife prepared for my anniversary; and I would feel offended if somebody thought they can nurture mutual friendship by simply posting some generic everybody-stuff on their Facebook. I find it acceptable if somebody uses technical means to facilitate, such as posting videos and pictures to a website and send a link. And I find it unacceptable when the provider of that site ask me to register to see the content that my friend wanted to share with me.

    I find social networking tools an acceptable way to manage “contacts”, i.e. acquaintances, business contacts, and the likes. Used right it’s the rolodex of the 21st century. For this there are better tools than Facebook. I use LinkedIn.

    It is a matter of aligning the interest of the service provider with those of the customer. I feel that Facebook and the like prey on my relationships, they try to monetize them in marketing terms, and this is off-limits to me.

    LinkedIn is IMO better, although also here usage varies. I have business contacts who feel these tools are too impersonal even for a business relationship; and there is no value in a LinkedIn network where everybody is connected with everybody either. I am selective in my choice of contacts. They are people I had a meaningful interaction with. They are not friends. They are mostly business partners or acquaintances. Under the right circumstances a few of them may turn out to be friends, but rest assured that the friendship plays on a different level than the social networking tool.

    In the end, nothing replaces physical, live interaction. The internet is a facilitator, but in itself it is not enough. And the most important thing to do when choosing a service provider is to see that their interests are aligned with yours, something I don’t see happening any time soon with Facebook whose business model depends on harvesting your personal information. I rather pay 25$/month and have control over my information, than use a “free” service that monetize it in ways that can be harmful to me and my social environment.

Leave a Reply

