• Subscribe

    Subscribe to This Week In Panospace by eMail.
    Subscribe in a reader
  • License

    Creative Commons License
    This work is © 2008-2012
    by Yuval Levy
    and licensed under a
    Creative Commons License.
  • Entries

    October 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Archives

Digital Photo Professional Linux


It’s been a while since I installed Canon Digital Photo Professional on Ubuntu / Wine. In the meantime, there have been upgrades to Ubuntu, Wine, and Digital Photo Professional. The good news is that the installed v.3.2 no longer shows the background quirks.

I’ve tried to upgrade to the most recent DPP update (v.3.7.2) as well as the last one supporting Windows 2000 (v.3.4.1) on Ubuntu 9.10 / Wine 1.1.26.dpp3.7.2_install_errorYou can see the error message above. Given the popularity of my previous post on this topic, I expected it to be known, and I found the bug report in Wine’s bug tracker. Go to the bug report and vote for it to be fixed!

3 Responses

  1. Have you tried to use Google Picasa for Linux? It works for me for my collection of raw and jpeg photos.

    But I’ve never used DPP.

  2. @purebill: Picasa is not my cup of tea.

  3. Did you tried the How-To [1] I wrote at the wine’s appdb? It’s a bit rusty (OK, it’s probably the worst way how to install software) but it should work.

    http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=version&iId=7813

    Anyway, it’s nice to see that others use DPP on Linux. Although there’s lot of RAW processing software but I find this one the best for quick&easy RAW conversion..

Leave a Reply

