• Subscribe

    Subscribe to This Week In Panospace by eMail.
    Subscribe in a reader
  • License

    Creative Commons License
    This work is © 2008-2012
    by Yuval Levy
    and licensed under a
    Creative Commons License.
  • Entries

    December 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Archives

Catching Up With Hugin


Yesterday I caught up with Hugin.  I stopped active contribution four months ago to focus on my new life and have not had much time for extra-curricular activities since.

Over the holidays I took some pictures again; and a few of them needed stitching.  Using Kubuntu’s Software Management System Settings in two minutes I was up and running with the version of Hugin that ships with Kubuntu 11.10.

However, I wanted the newest version, so I added the Hugin PPA to my sources list and within five minutes the newest and best Hugin was running on my notebook.

Like a real typical user, I did not read the manual, did not read the release notes, did not follow the conversation on the mailing list.  As a consequence, I missed on the new tool, a vertical line finder, until I found it mentioned in the thread announcing the new release.

Upgrading users (the vast majority) has to go through a manual process of questionable utility and usability, possibly losing their preference settings to get access to the new functionality.  Itchy.  Scratch.  Commit.

Leave a Reply

