• Subscribe

    Subscribe to This Week In Panospace by eMail.
    Subscribe in a reader
  • License

    Creative Commons License
    This work is © 2008-2012
    by Yuval Levy
    and licensed under a
    Creative Commons License.
  • Entries

    January 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Archives

Time


Time flies!  The holiday break is over (more on this later) and I am back to school.  Yesterday we were assigned to research and write a legal memorandum.  I scanned some relevant book excerpts.  This morning I arrived early and went to a quiet corner of the library to read them on my SONY eReader WiFi.  I lost track of time and arrived late for the 10:00 AM lecture.

The SONY eReader is an Android-based device; and in all pictures of Android tablets and cell phones there is this huge clock:

I understand the battery-preservation rationale for not displaying a real-time clock on an eInk display: each update of the clock would be equivalent to a page refresh and detrimental to battery life.  But a clock exists inside any device.  Why not make use of it?  How difficult is it for these user-interface genies that design the half-baked reader devices to add a screen where the user can query the current time and set an alert?

2 Responses

  1. I missed a clock while reading with a Sony Reader, too. What I use to get the time ist to press the home button, then it’ll show you when you last read the latest book. There I get the time.

  2. @Rumbah: nice workaround, except that it is time-consuming, requires me to interrupt my reading, and when I go back to my reading the zoom/rotation settings for the PDF are lost. My workaround is to use my cell phone as an alarm clock, but I can’t use it in the library because of the noise it would make. Bottom line: a visual silent alert on the reader’s screen itself is the superior solution, and if those making the device would think of the needs of the reader it would be easy to implement.

Leave a Reply

