• Subscribe

    Subscribe to This Week In Panospace by eMail.
    Subscribe in a reader
  • License

    Creative Commons License
    This work is © 2008-2012
    by Yuval Levy
    and licensed under a
    Creative Commons License.
  • Entries

    January 2008
    M T W T F S S
        Feb »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Archives

Color


hueyPRO Today I tried for the first time my new color calibration kit. I’ve been toying with the idea of calibrating my display for a year or so. Many friends recommended the ColorVision Spyder, but ColorVision’s attitude toward OpenSource made me think twice. I dual boot my computer, sometimes into Windows and sometimes into Ubuntu Linux. I want my display to be calibrated, no matter what OS I run.

LPROF will do it for me. I asked LPROF project leader Hal V. Engel and he recommended the standard PANTONE huey over the more expensive PANTONE huey PRO. The difference is only software and support for the device is already in LPROF’s CVS.

So I bought one from an eBay-store. Fast and friendly service, excellent packaging, and the price is right.

I bought the PRO for testing purpose. I’ll report the performace of LPROF against the huey’s PRO software at a later day. But for now, I took the shortcut: I rebooted into Windows (as expected no Linux support on the CD), installed the bundled software and after 15 minutes both my displays were calibrated.

Thanks to Hal, here are a few recommendations when calibrating:

  1. let the monitor warm up for at least 30 minutes before calibrating.
  2. calibrate in dim light. All devices in this price class yield good results but suffer of light leakage around the sensor.
  3. re-calibrate every month – the display changes over time
  4. Forget about the huey’s Room Lighting Compensation: it’s just a marketing gimmick and compensates only for brightness and not for the much more significant light quality factors such as the color temperature and the spectral curve.

I look forward to calibrate my two displays in Linux with LPROF.

3 Responses

  1. I’ve had the Huey Std for a while now and it serves me well.
    (Windows XP Pro)
    I notice you said “both displays were calibrated”, I only seem to be able to do my #1 screen and not the 2nd!?
    Perhaps a limitation of Huey Std?
    I don’t have have a photo grade printer as yet so will have to wait to see if profiles can be matched for printing!
    Hal’s recommendations are spot on, #4 took me a while to work out that it was just a gimmick!
    I’ll be interested in your comparison even though I don’t have Linux (one day, I’m a fan of open source)
    Anyway, Great blog, keep it up!
    Cheers Michael.

  2. Looks like you didn’t take recommendation #1 if you finished in 15 minutes :)

  3. @Michael: yes, limitation of Huey Std. I recommend you wait for LPROF. If you are impatient, you can buy a Pro update on Pantone’s website.

    @Roger: you can do other things while the display warms up :-)

Leave a Reply

