• Subscribe

    Subscribe to This Week In Panospace by eMail.
    Subscribe in a reader
  • License

    Creative Commons License
    This work is © 2008-2012
    by Yuval Levy
    and licensed under a
    Creative Commons License.
  • Entries

    March 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives

Canon Digital Photo Professional in Ubuntu Linux

DPP ubuntu

I’ve been looking for a Linux native application to browse through my ever growing collection of RAW files and convert them for further processing. Coming from the Windows world, so far I did not find any such application that matches my expectation of speed, comfort and features.

My benchmark is Adobe Lightroom, but unlike Photoshop it does not work in wine yet. So I took the dust off the CD that came with my camera and installed Canon Digital Photo Professional.

It works with quirks. The left hand side file system navigation pane has problems refreshing the display and the tool palette moves sometimes out of sight on my dual display. To keep it in sight, I open the picture window on the right display.

Installation was not completely straight forward:

  1. insert the CD and run wine setup.exe from the command line.
  2. download the latest update from Canon.The link is for North America only. Isn’t geographic market segmentation for this kind of product pathetic in the days of the global internet?
  3. The difficult step: edit the wine registry key. In HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE/Software/Microsoft/Windows NT/CurrentVersion/AeDebug set Auto from 1 to 0 (remember to change it back after the update).
  4. run the update from the command line.

Overall it’s fast browsing through my tons of RAW files. I’d prefer a Linux native application, but all I’ve seen so far doesn’t match the speed and comfort of Canon’s DPP. The search for the better image browser / raw converter goes on.