• Subscribe

    Subscribe to This Week In Panospace by eMail.
    Subscribe in a reader
  • License

    Creative Commons License
    This work is © 2008-2012
    by Yuval Levy
    and licensed under a
    Creative Commons License.
  • Entries

    August 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Archives

Inept Installer


This is what happens when an inept installer tries to use the Adept Installer that comes by default with Kubuntu 8.04.1. In this particular situation, I was trying to install and use krita, but it could have been any other application.

The box ticked next to it shows as if it is already installed, but it is nowhere to find in the menus and when I try to start it from the command line I get the message that it is currently not installed, with a hint on how to install it from the command line.

When I uncheck the box, it says it will remove it. Remove an application that is not installed? Whatever. I did not find the option to install it. I ended up solving my problem the easy way. Thank you, command line.

There is obviously a bug here, so I first went to the KDE Bug Tracker to see if it was known. It seems so, and it seems that this is a distribution issue, not a KDE issue. So I went to my distribution’s homepage (Kubuntu) and looked around. I found how to help out with Adept, and a pretty long list of bugs (as of today – the list is dynamically generated and will change in the future). That “Adept is currently very complicated for the average user when compared to Add/Remove programs or even Synaptic” is not very encouraging. Why punish the users? why not use Synaptic or another mature package manager?

I filed a bug report with KDE as well: the menu would not get updated after the install from the command line. This has affected me also when installing hugin, qtpfsgui and any other package I installed.

Leave a Reply

