• Subscribe

    Subscribe to This Week In Panospace by eMail.
    Subscribe in a reader
  • License

    Creative Commons License
    This work is © 2008-2012
    by Yuval Levy
    and licensed under a
    Creative Commons License.
  • Entries

    August 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Archives

Preparing the Next Release


hugin-logoHugin 0.8.0 has been released two weeks ago. Like with 0.7.0 the release cycle has been too loaded. We introduced plenty of new features (many developed during Google Summer of Code 2008), but forgot to fix some trivial things such as the location for temporary files (which can grow to gigabytes of size). Moreover, the prolonged trunk freeze has forced developers like Gerry Patterson and Thomas Modes to withhold those incremental improvements and bug fixes that make the difference between a software package with rough edges and a polished application.

I decided it is time to fix our release cycle and changed some things, breaking the old pattern. Most important, I’d like to make development independent of release so that we move continuously forward. I intentionally broke a few things and triggered a healthy discussion. It seems that we reached consensus and I’ve started to clean up the subversion repository. The next release will be 2009.2.

Besides pent up incremental improvement, there are some bigger changes on the horizon, but for 2009.2 we will retain only one of them: Andrew Mihal has added GPU support to nona. This means that users with a modern video card can leverage it for faster processing. This has been ready for a few months and it is time to release it. It will be the main change of the next release.

Our Google Summer of Code students will excuse me if I don’t talk about what’s beyond. This time we won’t make the mistake of loading too many things into one release. Their projects will follow, hopefully in rapid sequence, after 2009.2.

Below I document how I merged Andrew’s nona-GPU branch into trunk, hoping that it will be helpful for other merges. It shall be quick and painless – as long as the new functionality in the development branch does not work, it does not make sense to merge.

I started with a clean slate.

1) I fetched the branch from the repository

 $ svn co https://hugin.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/hugin/hugin/branches/nona-gpu h.nona.gpu
 $ cd h.nona.gpu

2) I pointed the browser to the SVN log viewer for the branch

3) I identified the revisions concerned: 3510,3511,3522,3523,3535,3563,3568,3569,3574,3582,3583,3648,4069

4) I created a diff file containing all the changes in the revision

$ svn -r 3510 diff > nonagpu.diff

5) I checked out a fresh trunk

 $ svn co https://hugin.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/hugin/hugin/trunk hugin

6) I built to make sure the initial status is known and OK

 $ mkdir ../h.build
 $ cd ../h.build
 $ cmake -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=/usr/local ../hugin
 $ make
 $ make package

7) I installed it and tested to make sure it works

8) I moved and applied the patch

 $ mv nonagpu.diff ../hugin
 $ cd ../hugin
 $ svn up
 $ patch -p0 < nonagpu.diff

9) applying the patch identified two conflicts in two CMakeLists.txt files:

 ...
 patching file src/hugin_base/CMakeLists.txt
 Hunk #1 FAILED at 51.
 1 out of 1 hunk FAILED -- saving rejects to file src/hugin_base/CMakeLists.txt.rej
 ...
 patching file src/CMakeLists.txt
 Hunk #1 FAILED at 9.
 1 out of 1 hunk FAILED -- saving rejects to file src/CMakeLists.txt.rej

10) I fixed the conflicts manually

11) I built the merged code to make sure I did not break anything major

 $ mkdir ../h.build
 $ cd ../h.build
 $ cmake -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=/usr/local ../hugin
 $ make
 $ make package

12) I installed and tested

13) I looked at each of the revisions concerned in the log viewer, e.g. 3511 to find out if files where addded, deleted or moved, and used the appropriate svn commands to add them. It would have been faster to look at the diff file, but like that I could also read Andrew’s comments and code changes and understand what was going on.

 $ svn add src/hugin_base/panotools/PanoToolsTransformGPU.cpp
 $ svn add src/hugin_base/vigra_ext/ImageTransformsGPU.cpp
 $ svn add src/hugin_base/vigra_ext/ImageTransformsGPU.h

14) In the end I was ready to commit

 $ svn ci

So what is the current status and what is next?

The code added a new dependency on GLEW. Most likely that this breaks the Windows build until the SDK is updated. So we need to update the SDK.

Andrew’s GPU code works and is available with the switch -g to those building trunk SVN4146 or later. I started to investigate support of the feature in the GUI, although in my opinion it is not mandatory to have GUI support to release the new feature.

There are enough new features in trunk so that when at the beginning of September the Hugin developers are polled whether to release or not, chances are that we’ll decide to go into release mode. My wish is to see this release out in September. Even if it will happen before the end of the year, I will be more than happy. Maybe a quantum leap for the project?

2 Responses

  1. Out of curiosity: Why didn’t you use svn merge? Wouldn’t this be easier?

  2. @Jörg: Short answer: because this is not my branch and I needed to study it.

    Long answer: I start with the assumption that I do not know anything about the nona-gpu branch – which is true.

    Identifying the relevant revisions / change was a necessary investigation of the branch – to understand how it came about and read what code has been added to it and how it works. I won’t claim that I understood its full detail (I only know a little bit about OpenGL from reading books; and my C++ skills are also very basic) but I have enough of an overview to feel comfortable with the code.

    Starting with a clean trunk and making sure it builds should be default procedure for any merge – to exclude the trunk as source of errors.

    And doing it this way I am sure that I don’t pollute the repository with a half-baked merge.

Leave a Reply

