• Subscribe

    Subscribe to This Week In Panospace by eMail.
    Subscribe in a reader
  • License

    Creative Commons License
    This work is © 2008-2012
    by Yuval Levy
    and licensed under a
    Creative Commons License.
  • Entries

    April 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Archives

Box Survives Product


Sometimes the box survives the product. Testimony to the quality of the packaging, or to the recycling minded end-user?

These boxes that I will use or our upcoming move bring me back in time. The HP DeskWriter 550C printed most of my university work, including full color acetates for presentation and my whole thesis. Prior to that I had some of these noisy needle printers. The HP LaserJet 3100 was my first laser. I bought it for the fax. Those were my only two HP printers. After moving overseas I changed brand again. I absolutely love my Brother 2070N and Brother MFC-6490cw, even if I find that the Windows driver is more polished and gives better results, especially when printing tabloid 17×11 borderless. In Windows I get it really borderless, while in Linux it leaves a thin white edge. Also some of the settings are pesky, and some application don’t paginate properly on the large format. Paper cuts, paper cuts, but at some point even paper cuts bleed (pun intended). And even in 2010 a fax is required for some business transactions. The MFC-6490cw saved my day a couple of times in the six months I had it.

Leave a Reply

