• Subscribe

    Subscribe to This Week In Panospace by eMail.
    Subscribe in a reader
  • License

    Creative Commons License
    This work is © 2008-2012
    by Yuval Levy
    and licensed under a
    Creative Commons License.
  • Entries

    June 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Sep »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Archives

Hugin 2011.2.0 Beta 1 Released.


I just kicked off the release cycle for Hugin 2011.2.0 with the release of the first beta.  In the little time since the last release, two new major features have been integrated

This will be my last release cycle for a while.  I will be stepping down from the release manager function to concentrate on a new challenge:  in September I am starting law school.  I look forward to bring a new perspective on my interests for finances, management/governance, software and media.

The short story when I am asked why is that because almost everything I have ever produced resides between my two ears, because I have two left hands.  Not that I don’t try to use them, but I generally add more value with my brain than with my hands.  Intellectual property.

Without the protection afforded by the law, intellectual property has little value.  This applies for both proprietary as well as Open Source software.  The current body of intellectual property laws is challenged by globalization (different cultures have different view on the property aspect of intangibles) and by technology and new media.  I look forward to study those challenges in more details, and to practice law in those interesting and evolving areas.

I will till hang around Hugin and contribute when I have time, but most likely my interaction with Hugin in the foreseeable future after 2011.2.0 is released will be those of a simple user.

Leave a Reply

